Weird solar science: How NASA’s Parker probe will dive through the Sun’s atmosphere


Parker will blast off aboard a United Launch Alliance Delta IV Heavy rocket from Space Launch Complex 37 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Fla.

Top source. Original media available.

NASA is set to launch its Parker Solar Probe on a historic mission that will 'touch the Sun.' The solar probe will be the first spacecraft to fly through the Sun's corona, the outermost part of the star's atmosphere.

CAPE CANAVERAL –  NASA‘s Parker Solar Probe will soon blast off from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station on an epic journey that will see it dive through the outermost part of the Sun’s atmosphere.

  • logo
  • Publisher: Fox News
  • Twitter: @foxnews
  • Citation: Web link

Latest tweet by publisher

While you’re here, how about this:

Parker Solar Probe: The Mission

In order to unlock the mysteries of the corona, but also to protect a society that is increasingly dependent on technology from the threats of space weather, we will send Parker Solar Probe to touch the sun.

The primary science goals for the mission are to trace the flow of energy and understand the heating of the solar corona and to explore what accelerates the solar wind. Parker Solar Probe provides a statistical survey of the outer corona.

Ongoing.

Current launch window estimate: August 11, 2018 approximately 3:33 a.m. EDT (7:33 UTC) to 4:38 a.m. EDT (8:38 UTC)

Ongoing.

(S:1) #1533920343

Video