F1’s iconic cars: The McLaren M23 by Giorgio Piola

But it was 1974 rivals McLaren and Emerson Fittipaldi that prevailed, running out the eventual winners in a less complex but far more compliant car.

Prior information available. Complete story.

Next year will be’Giorgio’s’50th year in the sport ‘ having covered over 800 GPs, he’s one of the longest serving journalists to ever grace the F1 paddock. This gives him a unique insight into the ever-changing landscape of the sport and perhaps, more importantly, an uninterrupted vision of the physical transformation the cars have undergone.

To placate them all, McLaren ran three cars throughout 1974, with Mike Hailwood, David Hobbs and Jochen Mass all taking their turn at the wheel of the Yardley entry, while Fittipaldi and Denny Hulme drove the Texaco-Marlboro entries.