Ocean Speedway: Furr maintains point lead with sprint car win

Racing continues Friday night with the Taco Bravo sprint cars back in action. IMCA sport modifieds return along with the American stocks and South Bay dwarf cars.

Story was first seen here. Track all the details.

Watsonville >> Brad Furr won the 30-lap Taco Bravo sprint car main event Friday night at Ocean Speedway. The win was Furr’s third of the season, and he carried a slim two-point lead over fifth-place finisher Koen Shaw going into the night.

The race was destined to go non-stop, and Furr wasted little time getting the lead from pole-sitter Mitchell Faccinto. Furr stretched his lead to about a straightaway over Faccinto before the checkered flag waved.

Justin Sanders maintained his championship hopes with a solid third-place finish ahead of Ryan Bernal, Shaw, Kurt Nelson, Jason Chisum, Jeremy Chisum, James Ringo and Bryan Grier.

  • logo
  • Twitter: @scsentinel
  • Citation: Web link

Latest tweet by publisher

This may worth something:

Ocean Speedway: Furr gains ground on Shaw, Burke also scores win

WATSONVILLE — Brad Furr scored a victory in the 30-lap Taco Bravo Sprint Car Main Event on July 13 at Ocean Speedway in Watsonville.

Furr was trailing Koen Shaw by four points in the standings coming into the night, but his second win of the season may have gained him the lead.

Reigning King Of The West Sprint Car champion Bud Kaeding led through two early yellow flags ahead of Cole Macedo, but the latter’s run in second came to an end at a lap 18 caution flag.

Furr ran strong during the final 10 circuits and collected the satisfying victory ahead of Justin Sanders.

  • Publisher: Register-Pajaronian
  • Citation: Web link

(S:1) #1534044552