Vote for Clarksville’s girls athlete of the week for Sept. 9

9-14 Go vote now before the poll closes Thursday for Clarksville’s girls athlete of the week for Sept. 9-14.

Read More.

In the first volleyball match of the season for Northwest, the Lady Vikings knocked off Fort Campbell in four games. George Robinson, USA TODAY NETWORK – Tennessee

Several cross country runners are included in this week’s poll along with volleyball players, so vote now for Clarksville’s girls athlete of the week poll for the week of Sept. 9-14.

This week’s poll includes three athletes from Clarksville High, including two on the Lady Wildcats’ volleyball team (Sydney Weatherford and Arya Rogers) as well as a cross country runner in Emma Stewart.

Northwest’s Emily Schroeder, Clarksville Academy’s Nikki Harnage and Kenwood’s Lena Young round out our athlete of the week poll.

Publisher: The Leaf Chronicle
Author: George Robinson
Twitter: @leafchronicle
Reference: Visit Source

Other things to check out:

Two area athletes voted to IGCA all-state softball

Two Centerville Redettes were recognized by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association (IGCA) as all-state players, while two other local players earned honorable mentions.

Centerville’s Claire Mathews was voted to the Class 3A first team while her teammate, Taylor Shinn, was selected to the third team. This is each girl’s first appearance on the all-state softball teams.

Mathews, a sophomore, made the transition from shortstop to third base this year. She would lead the team in runs scored (27), triples (three), home runs (two), RBIs (24) and stolen bases (11) while sporting a .340 batting average.

Publisher: Daily Iowegian
Author: Colin Peters Sports reporter
Twitter: @DailyIowegian
Reference: Visit Source

HIGH SCHOOL NOTEBOOK: Barnes named 2nd team All-State

The Floyd Central senior boys’ basketball standout was named second-team All-State by the Associated Press.’

* * *

On the boys’ side,’Silver Creek sophomore Trey Kaufman and Jeffersonville junior Tre Coleman earned high honorable mention recognition while New Albany senior Derrick Stevenson and the Silver Creek duo of senior Zane Gross and sophomore Kooper Jacobi received honorable mention.’

On the girls’ side, Jeffersonville junior Nan Garcia, Charlestown senior Samantha Matthews and Providence junior Natalie Boesing garnered high honorable mention recognition while Silver Creek sophomore Jaclyn Emly received honorable mention.’

Publisher: News and Tribune
Twitter: @newsandtribune
Reference: Visit Source

Fannin County Sports Hall of Fame induction banquet Jan. 26 – North Texas e

Fannin County, Texas — The Fannin County Sports Hall of Fame will’induct one team, one coach, as well as’three athletes’at the annual’Sports Hall of Fame’banquet slated for Saturday, January 26, 2019.

* * *

The 1962 Fannindel Falconettes will be the latest team to earn a place in the Sports Hall of Fame, along with coach Jerry Shaffer, and Dale Trompler, Jake Shockley and Mackey Morris.

* * *

During the 1961-62 season, the second year of Fannindel’s existence, the women’s basketball team placed second at the UIL State Basketball Championship Tournament.

Publisher: North Texas e-News
Reference: Visit Source